Book Review ~ Death Before Decaf by Caroline Fardig

Capture102

Death Before Decaf (Java Jive Series, #1) by Caroline Fardig

First in a New Series!

Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Diane Mott Davidson, Caroline Fardig’s captivating new mystery novel takes readers behind the counter of a seemingly run-of-the-mill coffeehouse . . . where murder is brewing.

After her music career crashes and burns spectacularly, Juliet Langley is forced to turn to the only other business she knows: food service. Unfortunately, bad luck strikes yet again when her two-timing fiancé robs her blind and runs off with her best waitress. Flushing what’s left of her beloved café down the toilet with her failed engagement, Juliet packs up and moves back to her college stomping grounds in Nashville to manage an old friend’s coffeehouse. At first glance, it seems as though nothing’s changed at Java Jive. What could possibly go wrong? Only that the place is hemorrhaging money, the staff is in open revolt, and Juliet finds one unlucky employee dead in the dumpster out back before her first day is even over.

The corpse just so happens to belong to the cook who’d locked horns with Juliet over the finer points of the health code. Unimpressed with her management style, the other disgruntled employees are only too eager to spill the beans about her fiery temper to the detective on the case. Add to the mix a hunky stranger who’s asking way too many questions, and suddenly Juliet finds herself in some very hot water. If she can’t simmer down and sleuth her way to the real killer, she’s going to get burned.

My Rating:

4Stars

Review:

This was my first introduction to Caroline Fardig, and I was really interested because the book was was deemed “perfect for Janet Evanovich fans”, which I am, immensely.  I started this book and it took me about 1/3 of the way in the book to really get sucked in. The story started out slow and worked it’s way to the great characters. However, once I hit about 1/3 of the way in I became sucked in to the story, but mostly the characters and by the last few chapters of the book I couldn’t put it down. The story line was well written, hilarious and well-plotted and I was shocked by the “who done it” of the book, which doesn’t happen often. Usually I have it pegged by the middle of the story.

The characters are well-developed and believable and I have to complement the chemistry of the main characters, you can feel the love between Juliet and Pete, but you can feel the electricity and attraction between Juliet and Ryder! As far as love triangles go, this series seems to be headed that way. I know most people will probably be a Team Pete fan, but there is always something about the bad boy and I am pulling for Team Ryder! I also loved Gertie, who made me laugh out loud with her mouth! And the funeral scene was down right hysterical!

This is the first book in a new series, but I can’t wait for more!

Overall, Death Before Decaf was a fun, fast read with good writing enhanced by an enjoyable story line and an awesome lineup of characters!

I received an ARC of this book, from NetGalley, in exchange for my honest review.

Links:

Goodreads | Amazon

This book is set to be released on November 17, 2015. You can Pre-Order it  NOWONLY $2.99!

Mug Shot (Java Jive Series, #2) is set to be released on April 12, 2016! You can also Pre-Order it NOW! ~ Only $2.99!

Professional Reader Challenge Participant