Book Review ~ Cedar and Cinnamon by Jennifer Bramseth

Screen Shot 2016-01-10 at 2.35.26 PM

Cedar and Cinnamon (Bourbon Springs Series, #5) by Jennifer Bramseth


Harriet Hensley usually enjoys the legal work and other tasks that come with being an attorney for Bourbon Springs’ most important business, Old Garnet Distillery. But when Hannah Davenport asks her to help new with a project to help the distillery apply for National Historic Landmark status, Harriet isn’t excited, but not because she doesn’t think the work would be dull. It’s because of the guy with whom she’s going to have to work.

Goose Davenport, Hannah and Bo’s cousin, has been known for years as the local hothead, the crazy guy who seemed to hide behind his father’s badge—the late former Craig County Sheriff Fuzzy Davenport. And a few years earlier, Harriet, the local little-miss-perfect and former Miss BourbonDaze, had a taste of that wild side of the man—and found she liked it quite a bit. But despite their mutual attraction, fate denied them the chance to see what happened next, and they kept the fact of their encounter—and feelings—to themselves.

Working with Goose presents new professional, personal, and legal challenges, and feelings suppressed for years boil to the surface. He’s enchanted by the woman he never thought he’d attain, and she’s delighted to learn about Goose’s softer side—as well as his deep knowledge and love of Old Garnet which astounds her.

Yet within that knowledge is buried a hidden, deep vein of resentment in Goose that stretches back nearly a hundred years, far back into the history of the brand and family. This lingering bitterness threatens not only Harriet and Goose’s new love, but Old Garnet itself.

Cedar and Cinnamon is the fifth book in the Bourbon Springs Series, a nine-book series of smooth, sensual, sexy, slow-burn contemporary romances set amidst the lush and rolling Land of Bourbon and Bluegrass of central Kentucky.

My Rating:


First off, I really enjoy Jennifer Bramseth’s writing style and the world of Bourbon Springs, so this isn’t my first review of this series. We start this story five years in the past with two characters, Goose and Harriet, who begin to build a relationship and friendship. Then skip to the present where we see these characters true struggle to their HEA. The fun thing to read is that these two characters struggle in a romantic and sweet way to overcome obstacles that stand in the way of two people who obviously belong together. Overall, I loved seeing these two characters interact, there was so much fun chemistry between them.

I can say that I thoroughly enjoyed the story and especially Jennifer’s writing style, which is very descriptive and pulls you right into the story, as do all of her stories. During most, if not all, of the story I could really “see” everything being described and felt like I was actually a supportive character in the book.

This is the fifth book in this series, but can be read as a standalone book. However, you will want to go back and read the first four as well, and continue to pre-order the rest in the series as they come out!

Overall, Cedar and Cinnamon was a fun read with good writing enhanced by an enjoyable story line, lovable characters and a very sweet happily ever after love story!

I received an ARC of this book, from NetGalley, in exchange for my honest review.


Goodreads | Amazon

This book was released on December 8, 2015. You can get your own Kindle copy right NOW ~ ONLY $3.99!

If you are interested in the first four books of the Bourbon Springs Series:

secretblend    Secret Blend (Bourbon Springs Series, #1) by Jennifer Bramseth ~ FREE!

 BLue   Filtered Through Blue (Bourbon Springs Series, #2) by Jennifer Bramseth ~ Only $3.99!

Angel   Angel’s Share (Bourbon Springs Series, #3) by Jennifer Bramseth ~ Only $3.99!

distillerschoice   Distiller’s Choice (Bourbon Springs Series, #4) by Jennifer Bramseth ~ Only $3.99! FREE with Amazon KindleUnlimited!


Professional Reader Challenge Participant  Reviews Published